Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Market and Industry research

This extensive guide covers numerous aspects of business research, including tools and strategies for researching industries, consumers, and companies.

Why do I need an article?

Articles in peer reviewed journals or in trade publications can be very useful - especially if you are looking for information about trends, forecasts or outlooks.

How do I find them?

Discovery is a good place to start, though you should also try specialized databases. Access our A-Z database from the library homepage.



Discovery is our Google-like research tool.  It is the main search box on our webpage.

Along the left side of the results page are a number of options that will help you refine your search. They include peer reviewed scholarly articles, content type (books, ebooks, trade publications) and date.  The date filter is especially useful for business research. Your results are sorted by relevance as a default, but you can change this to date.

Not sure if an article is popular or academic (peer reviewed)? Check here.

Finding industry or market reports, trade journals, SWOT analyses, and more

You can focus your search to trade journals, industry reports, market reports, SWOT analyses, and more, by using filtering options in these two management/business databases:

Business Source Complete

ABI Inform Collection

After you have run your keyword search:

  • narrow your results by publication date, to filter out older literature
  • look for the menu on the left that enables you to filter by source type

Here is an example of that menu from Business Source Complete.

Business Source Complete document type filter

To see all of your options here, click on the 'show more' link.

undefined

More management literature

Another source of scholarly literature on management

Newspaper search tools

RRU Library offers several databases with extensive Canadian news coverage. You'll find a wide range of regional, provincial, and national news in the databases below. 

Looking for a specific newspaper? Search for it by title here: Newspapers, journals, and magazines by title.