Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Get started with research

Learn how to use the library resources to get started with your research.

Search in Google Scholar @ RRU

Google Scholar @ RRU provides a way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, and find full-text articles to which the RRU Library subscribes.

Google Scholar is a search tool that allows you to search for scholarly literature. Google Scholar is a good place to start your research or to find a specific journal article. Google Scholar will help you broadly explore your topic area because it searches across disciplines, sources, and types of information.

RRU Library has made it possible for you to find scholarly material in our collection through Google. It is important to access Google Scholar from the RRU Library homepage to ensure you find our subscribed full text. Use the link for Google Scholar @ RRU from the “Find” box on the library homepage at library.royalroads.ca. For example, a search for “disaster preparedness technology” will retrieve a number of articles that include a “Full text @ RRU” link. Click the “Full-text @ RRU” link next to the search result to authenticate with your RRU username and password.

To explore your topic further, try out the “Related articles” or “Cited by” features for each search result. The “Cited by” link will retrieve a list of articles that have referenced the article from your original search results. Click the quotation mark under the search result to view an APA-formatted citation for the article. Keep in mind that citations from Google Scholar should be treated as a first draft. Be sure to check all your citations and references for completeness and accuracy before submitting your work, and remember to make sure your citation follows the edition of APA that you have been instructed to use.

If you don’t see the “Full text @ RRU” link, let us know. The linking to our collection is not always accurate, so we may have the item you need even if Google says we don’t. Also, we can obtain articles that are not in our library collection through our interlibrary loan service. Request help from our staff via the Ask the Library link on our library homepage.

For more information, check out our Google Scholar resource guide.