Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Creating stable links to Library resources

Procedures for creating stable links to licensed resources to share with other members of the RRU community.

Creating stable links to Library resources

When you find an article or other resource via the RRU Library databases, the URL of the page displaying that article is often not a stable URL (i.e., one that you can use later to go back to that article, or share with other RRUers). Different database have different stable-link-generating procedures. Sometimes the URLs can be altered in ways that make them stable; sometimes there is a feature within the database that will help with this process. 

We've provided step-by-step instructions for creating stable links to content in each of our databases. To use this guide:

  1. Locate the database platform below that provides the content of the stable link you wish to generate.
  2. Click on the database name to view the instructions for creating stable links to that content.

Note: You will see references to the "OpenAthens link generator" in many of the instructions in this guide. RRU uses a proxy software called OpenAthens to enable subscriber access to Library online resources. Frequently, both OpenAthens information and specific database information are required to make stable URLs to content.

If you encounter any problems while creating links to your resources, please Ask Us!