Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open access collections
Athabasca University Press books
Athabasca University Press's open access, digital collection of peer reviewed scholarly work.
Australian National University ANU E Press
Hosted by the Division of Information at The Australian National University, ANU E Press was established in 2003 to explore and enable new modes of scholarly publishing. Taking advantage of new information and communication technologies to make available the intellectual output of the academic community of the ANU, the primary focus of ANU E Press is the production of electronic scholarly texts.
Internet Archive Ebook and Texts Archive
Over 12,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
National Academies Press ebooks
Contains more than 4,000 titles in PDF format on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health. All PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or by the entire book.
Project Gutenberg offers over 36,000 free ebooks to download to your PC, Kindle, iPad, iPhone, Android or other portable device. Choose between ePub, Kindle, HTML and simple text formats.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. Access to the entire collection of electronic books is open to all University of California faculty, staff, and students, while more than 500 of the titles are available to the public. Print versions of many of the electronic books can be purchased directly from the publishers.
UN-HABITAT Reference Library
Browse through UN-HABITAT’s library of reports, resolutions, declarations, training materials and best practices, by theme, or view them alphabetically and chronologically.
United Nations educational, scientific and cultural organization
Contains 120 000 free downloadable documents in six official languages covering all UNESCO fields,
University of Ottawa Press Open Access Publications
Developed in collaboration with the University of Ottawa Library, the open access collection is available in PDF format through the University of Ottawa’s institutional repository, uO Research, which can be searched by title, author, date or keyword.