Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Keeping up with new research

Resources and strategies to help you to stay updated with new research more easily.

What is a journal alert?

A journal alert automatically notifies you via email or RSS feed when new content from a journal is available. Alerts can be created from the Library's research databases and publisher's websites. By subscribing to alerts you can:

  • Stay updated with current research in your field
  • Identify new areas of potential research
  • Learn about upcoming conferences
  • Save time and effort

Setting up search alerts for specifc topics in research databases

The easiest way to set up journal alerts is to find the journal in a database. Access the A-Z database list on the library homepage.

Popular databases for setting up journal alerts: 

When setting up alerts:

  • Register for an account with the database or database provider. This will allow you to create, save, modify and access alerts created in the database.
  • You will need to create an account with each database or database provider to receive alerts from more than one database provider, e.g. Scopus (Elsevier) and SAGE Journals (SAGE Publishing). However, only a single account is needed to set up alerts in different databases from the same provider, e.g. Elsevier owns Scopus and ScienceDirect.

Setting up journal alerts for newly published issues

Search for journal or publisher websites

The easiest way to search for a particular journal is through searching 'Journals' tab in the main search box on on the RRU library homepage. This feature is a listing of every journal to which the Library subscribes, whether it is in print or online.

Enter the journal title you are interested in. Your results may show that you have access to the same journal or magazine through more than one source. You can pick whichever source you like, but first make sure that the source you select has the coverage you want. Does journal access go far enough back in time, or is it current?

Once you locate the journal, click on the journal title to go directly to where you have access to articles.

From here, look for an email or RSS alert option.

You will need to sign up for a free personal account or profile before you can save searches or create alerts.  These accounts are not connected to your RRU credentials so you will need to keep track of the account credentials you create.

Sample publisher alert help guides:

Journal table of contents (TOCs)

Journal TOCs (Table of Contents)

  • Journal TOCs is a free service that automatically notifies you when new issues of followed journals are published. The site contains a collection of approximately 30 000 journals, including hybrid and open access journals.
  • Search for journal or browse by publisher or subject; sign up for free account and "follow" up to 30 journal titles.

Follow journals:

 

Search for articles by keyword and save searches:

  


View saved searches and followed journals from your account settings:

For more information, see the Journal TOCs help guide.