Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Justice Studies

Selected resources in the RRU library to support legal research and Justice studies.

Canadian History

Early Canadiana Online: virtual library holding the most complete set of full-text historical content about Canada, including books, magazines and government documents.

Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources : searchable database of digitised versions of the debates and journals of the Senate and the House of Commons.

Canadian Confederation: From the National Library of Canada, this website contains historical essays linked with articles, documents and photographs. It is general in scope. Other collections from the National Library included: The Canadian West, Politics and Government, and Aboriginal Peoples.

Canadian Encyclopedia: entire Canadian Encyclopedia online. Keyword search or browse for a topic. Provides a brief introduction to topics.

Canada Yearbook: Published annually from 1867, provides reference on the social and economic life of Canada and its citizens. Tables, charts and succinct analytical articles on every major subject in Statistics Canada's areas of expertise.

Constitution Acts from 1867 to 1982: Complete texts of Canada's Constitution Acts

Historical Atlas of Canada

Index to Federal Royal Commissions: often includes links to the full documents.

Multicultural Canada: Canadian historical mulicultural resources online. Encyclopedia articles, newspapers, letters and oral histories and more.

Find books @RRU

The library's collection of books in print and electronic format  can be searched via the Discovery search tool. On the results page, use the left-hand panel to limit to books or ebooks.

To find books by topics on the study of Canada, enter the keywords of the topic and the word "Canada". Keep the search simple; you are only searching a description of the book and not the full content.

Search terms and phrases for popular topics
Indigeneity Politics Cultural industries
"natives peoples" AND Canada
aboriginal AND canada
"Indians of North America" AND Canada
indigenous AND Canada 

Regionalism  AND Canada
 Canada AND Peacekeeping
 canada AND sovereignty
 canada AND multiculturalism
 colonialism AND canada
 Canada AND "ethnic relations"

Canada AND "intellectual life"
Canada AND "cultural policy"
Canada AND Art
Canada AND Nationalism
Canada AND theatre
Canada AND humour

Canadian History

Indigenous Canada and Decolonization

Websites