"Wilson has published Research is Ceremony: Indigenous Research Methods that explores Indigenous ontology, epistemology, axiology and methodology" (Royal Roads University, 2019).
This database is an extensive collection of research methods books, articles, encyclopedia entries and handbook chapters. Find it in the Library Databases tab on the library homepage under "S". SAGE contains many resources to help
To get started, type "indigenous" in the main search bar in SAGE. Since you are searching in a methodology-focused database, you do not need to include the words "methods" or "ethics"- these words will be included in the search results.
Browse the results to find a variety of resources including handbooks, encyclopedia entries, cases, videos and more.
You can also find:
2. Explanations of how research methods are applied in real research projects, written by researchers, in Cases. On the main search page, type "Indigenous" into the search bar, then on the results page, use the filters on the right-hand side to select "Cases" from the Content Type filter.
3. Short videos on conducting research, applying methods, and explanations of key terms.
SAGE. (2017, January 31). SAGE research methods overview [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rppKj7xHA-I&t=2s
One way to search for articles in which the authors have used a specific research methodology is to use the advanced search function to search for the method you want in the abstract.
Here is an example of how to do this using Discovery:
1. Select the advanced search option on the main RRU Library webpage.
2. In the first search box enter your main search strategy and in the second search box enter the research method. Change the menu option in the second box to Abstract.
3. Use the filter on the left to narrow down to peer reviewed articles
You will see in some of your results that Action Research is discussed in the article.
You can try a similar approach in any of these subject or publisher-specific databases:
The following list of books are a starting point for learning more about Indigenous research methods and methodologies.
Indigenous Research Methodologies by
Following the increasing emphasis in the classroom and in the field to sensitize researchers and students to diverse epistemologies, methods, and methodologies - especially those of women, minority groups, former colonized societies, indigenous people, historically oppressed communities, and people with disabilities, author Bagele Chilisa has written the first research methods textbook that situates research in a larger, historical, cultural, and global context with case studies from around the globe to make very visible the specific methodologies that are commensurate with the transformative paradigm of research and the historical and cultural traditions of indigenous peoples. Chapters cover the history of research methods, colonial epistemologies, research within postcolonial societies, relational epistemologies, emergent and indigenous methodologies, Afrocentric research, feminist research, language frameworks, interviewing, and building partnerships between researchers and the researched. The book comes replete with traditional textbook features such as key points, exercises, and suggested readings, which makes it ideally suited for graduate courses in research methods, especially in education, health, women′s studies, cultural studies, sociology, and related social sciences.
Indigenous Statistics by
In the first book ever published on Indigenous quantitative methodologies, Maggie Walter and Chris Andersen open up a major new approach to research across the disciplines and applied fields. While qualitative methods have been rigorously critiqued and reformulated, the population statistics relied on by virtually all research on Indigenous peoples continue to be taken for granted as straightforward, transparent numbers. This book dismantles that persistent positivism with a forceful critique, then fills the void with a new paradigm for Indigenous quantitative methods, using concrete examples of research projects from First World Indigenous peoples in the United States, Australia, and Canada. Concise and accessible, it is an ideal supplementary text as well as a core component of the methodological toolkit for anyone conducting Indigenous research or using Indigenous population statistics.
Indigenous Pathways into Social Research by
A new generation of indigenous researchers is taking its place in the world of social research in increasing numbers. These scholars provide new insights into communities under the research gaze and offer new ways of knowing to traditional scholarly models. They also move the research community toward more sensitive and collaborative practices. But it comes at a cost. Many in this generation have met with resistance or indifference in their journeys through the academic system and in the halls of power. They also often face ethical quandaries or even strong opposition from their own communities. The life stories in this book present the journeys of over 30 indigenous researchers from six continents and many different disciplines. They show, in their own words, the challenges, paradoxes, and oppression they have faced, their strategies for overcoming them, and how their work has produced more meaningful research and a more just society.
Indigenous Methodologies by
What are Indigenous research methodologies, and how do they unfold? Indigenous methodologies flow from tribal knowledge, and while they are allied with several western qualitative approaches, they remain distinct. These are the focal considerations of Margaret Kovach's study,which offers guidance to those conducting research in the academy using Indigenous methodologies. Kovach includes topics such as Indigenous epistemologies, decolonizing theory, story as method, situating self and culture, Indigenous methods, protocol, meaning-making, and ethics. In exploring these elements, the book interweaves perspectives from six Indigenous researchers who share their stories, and also includes excerpts from the author's own journey into Indigenous methodologies. Indigenous Methodologies is an innovative and important contribution to the emergent discourse on Indigenous research approaches and will be of use to graduate students, professors, and community-based researchers of all backgrounds - both within the academy and beyond.
Positioning research : shifting paradigms, interdisciplinarity and indigene by
The availability of research methodologies and frameworks to facilitate different ways of gathering knowledge and performing research is often a matter of concern for early career researchers as well as advanced research scholars. Positioning Research, while identifying this gap, provides avenues that encompass differing cultural backgrounds and disciplines to enable exploration of research frameworks and shifting paradigms, considering the impact of social media and new forms of knowledge that assist real-time, global distribution of research.
The book highlights the possibilities of transition into ‘the third space’, where negotiation and dialogue are central to positioning research. It upholds the principle that different research methodologies are equally valid and valued in contributing to new knowledge. The book focuses on the contexts in which research questions are conceptualised and designed, and highlights the implications of research for the various partners and communities that participate in the research. It thus provides a cutting-edge framework for conducting multidisciplinary research
Decolonizing Methodologies by
'A landmark in the process of decolonizing imperial Western knowledge.' Walter Mignolo, Duke University To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being. Now in its eagerly awaited second edition, this bestselling book has been substantially revised, with new case-studies and examples and important additions on new indigenous literature, the role of research in indigenous struggles for social justice, which brings this essential volume urgently up-to-date.
