Open education resources

We recommend starting your search for OER with the Open Textbook Collection by BCcampus! Find free, open, and customizable materials -- available to anyone, but designed with B.C. in mind. The textbooks in this collection have been highly curated. Each text is created by subject-matter experts and  evaluated for excellence in course design, accessibility, and inclusivity. Many have been reviewed by BC postsecondary faculty (including some written and reviewed by RRU faculty!) 

Alongside textbooks, you'll find many other open materials:

• Use and adapt lesson plans, course syllabi, assessments, rubrics, and more.
• Engage students with discussion topics, activities, and projects.
• Browse course packs for ideas and inspiration.

Can't find what you're looking for? BCcampus offers a highly curated collection of materials based on strict criteria, but there are millions of other open resources out there. The folks at BCcampus recommend expanding your search with OASIS, a search tool that finds open content from 115 different sources and contains over 440,000 records. 

Open Textbook Initiativefrom the American Institute of Mathematics (AIM)

• AIM seeks to encourage the adoption of open source mathematics textbooks. AIM's editors have developed evaluation criteria to identify open source books that are suitable for use in traditional university courses. A list of "Approved Textbooks" which have been judged to meet these criteria is available.

College Open Textbooks (available with a variety of open licenses)

InTech

• A large multidisciplinary open access publisher of books covering the fields of science, technology and medicine. Intech has a good selection of open textbooks in the environmental sciences.

MERLOT

• A partnership program of California State University, other higher education institutions, professional societies, and industry. MERLOT's collection is peer reviewed and catalogued by registered members. 

OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks)

• A collaborative initiative to develop and implement a sustainable Open Access publication model for academic books in the humanities and social sciences.

OER Commons

• A collection of open education resources from over 500 global content partners.

Open Textbook Library, from the University of Minnesota offers quality open textbooks.

OpenStax has peer-reviewed university level textbooks online free to download.

MIT OpenCourseWare
Open acces to MIT course content.

Open Course Library
OCL is a collection of course materials from the Washington State Board for Community & Technical Colleges.

Open Education Consortium
OEC is an international community of higher education institutions dedicated to advancing open education.

Open Learning Initiative
OLI is a collection of open online courses from Carnegie Mellon University.

Open.Michigan
A collection of open courses, learning resources and syllabi from the University of Michigan.

GCFLearnFree
A large collection of online tutorials. Topics include technology, mathematics, grammar and career planning.

Video

1. Openverse: Search engine for open source images, audio, and video
2. Wikimedia Commons: a database of 20,550,201 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
3. YouTube: Do a search, then use the "Filters" button below the search box to further filter your search results to "Creative Commons"
4. Vimeo: Browse the Creative Commons licensed videos on Vimeo