Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Records management at RRU

Everything you need to know about organizing and destroying information at Royal Roads University.

Introduction to the Time Limits for Official Records

This section contains the full classification scheme for official records at Royal Roads University.

A classification scheme is a set of categories for records.  Once you have assigned a category to a record, managing the record is easy: the category will tell you how long to keep the record, and how to dispose of it.

In most cases, a category will call for the destruction of a record once the official time period is complete - this reduces liability, frees up server space, and makes the location of current records more obvious to searchers.  In other cases, the category will ask you to transfer the record to the Royal Roads Archives to enrich the collective memory of our institution.

By following the standardized practice described in the official Royal Roads classification system, it will be clear to the public which records are available for Freedom of Information requests.  In other words, following these standards is an important contribution to the transparency of our institution.

Find records related to:


A PDF version of the Royal Roads Time Limits for Official Records with rationales and legislative citations is also available:

Learning & Teaching

 DESIGN | Learning & Teaching

Records relating to the process of meeting the standards of a professional body with regards to curriculum.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

Records relating to higher education market research, analysis and planning. Covers academic program concepts, proposals, and market analysis.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records pertaining to the development of courses and programs. Includes curriculum development, instructional design, course overviews, outlines and syllabi. Encompasses records from all program areas, including continuing studies and professional programs.

Retention: Keep records for two years from the date of creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

^Back to Learning & Teaching menu


RECRUIT | Learning & Teaching

Records pertaining to offers, acceptance, and enrolment. Include reports and statistics on the number of students enrolled each year.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records pertaining to the recruitment and engagement of future students. Includes records relating to agents.

Retention: Keep records relating to a person who has expressed interest in attending Royal Roads for seven years from the date the person opts out of receiving emails, then destroy.

 

Redirects

^Back to Learning & Teaching menu


DELIVER | Learning & Teaching

Records relating to the assessment of both students and instructors. Includes exam questions, completed exams, surveys, assignments, major projects, invigilation records, grade appeals, course evaluations, and instructor evaluations.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy. NOTE: Instructors inclined to keep student work may benefit from telling students at the beginning of each course that a request for references should be accompanied by marked class assignments.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records relating to the delivery of courses. Includes online courses, handouts, and lecturer's notes.

Retention: Keep records for three years from date the course is finished, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the administration of practicum and co-operative education experiences.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the scheduling of courses and exams. Includes timetables printed for individual students.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records representing the central repository of courses.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

^Back to Learning & Teaching menu


GRADUATE | Learning & Teaching

Records relating to the management of graduation ceremonies.

Retention: Keep one copy of the program and the convocation roll for seven years, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records that relate to a student's eligibility for graduation. Includes applications to graduate, as well as graduation requirements.

Retention: Keep records for two years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

^Back to Learning & Teaching menu


IMPROVE | Learning & Teaching

Records representing an internal review of an academic program. Also known as audit, annual program review or departmental review.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

  • For curriculum reviews relating to an accreditation process carried out by a third party, see Accreditation.

^Back to Learning & Teaching menu


ACADEMIC ADMINISTRATION | Learning & Teaching

Records relating to the academic calendar, which defines academic year terms and notable dates such as course drop deadlines, application deadlines for graduation, as well as a general guide to navigating the university.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

^Back to Learning & Teaching menu


STUDENT ADMINISTRATION | Learning & Teaching

Records generated in the process of formulating a criteria for acceptance into RRU.

Retention: Keep eligibility requirements for two years from the date of record creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the administration of courses. Includes class lists, course add / drop forms, grade change forms, reading lists, course book requisition forms, lectures, notes, working papers and teaching material.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records connected to the process of giving a student credit for prior learning. Includes course challenges, transfer credits, and flexible learning assessments.

Retention: Keep records for 80 years from the date of the student’s initial application to Royal Roads, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records relating to the management of the discount bus pass for students. Includes opt-out requests, lost passes, violations, and administration.

Retention: Keep records associated with individual passes for seven years after the pass is no longer active, then destroy. Keep all other records for seven years after the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records generated in the processing of applications for acceptance into RRU. Includes evaluation and appeals of individual applicants.

Retention: If the applicant was successful, transfer to student file. If the applicant was not successful or did not register, keep application for one year from the date of rejection or cancellation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records pertaining to student misconduct. For more information on the kind of misconduct that warrants a misconduct file, see Academic Integrity & Misconduct Policy For Students .

Retention: Keep records for 80 years from the date of the student’s initial application to Royal Roads, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records that represent an official interaction between a student and RRU. Includes approved credits for prior learning, finalized grades, grade changes, transcript requests, records relating to the death of current students, summaries of misconduct, and criminal record checks.

Retention: Keep records for 80 years from the date of initial application to RRU, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For records covering misconduct unrelated to original research projects, see Student Misconduct. For records covering misconduct related to original research projects, see Researcher Misconduct.

^Back to Learning & Teaching menu


STUDENT SUPPORT SERVICES | Learning & Teaching

Records pertaining to academic advice, including requests for medical or counselling appointments, letters of permission, transfer and re-admission forms.

Retention: Keep records for four years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records that cover the process of developing the academic skills of students. Includes reference questions, writing and research workshops, team dynamics coaching, and guides.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For training records where the emphasis is to produce good research, see Researcher Training.

Records that document career and employment support given by the university. Includes employer case files, student case files, alumni assistance, casual worklists, educational material, and sign-up lists.

Retention: Keep records for two years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records that document the activity of supporting students facing barriers related to short- or long- term medical conditions, health conditions, neurodiversity, or physical access issues.

Retention: Keep records for five years from the date of the student is no longer registered at the university, then destroy. Students who return within five years will have their file reactivated.

 

Redirects

Records that document programs for students with Indigenous heritage. Includes mentoring and tutoring programs, cultural spaces for students, partnerships with external parties, cultural activities, and student assistance.

Retention: Keep records for five years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records that document the coordination and administration of student exchanges between RRU and other universities. Includes the registration forms of unsuccessful candidates.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records that cover the administration of awards and financial aid. Includes both accepted and rejected applications, nominations, award committee minutes, speeches, notices of award, bursaries, Federal and US student loans and emergency loans.

Retention: Keep records relating to the establishment of awards, and successful award winners, for seven years, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records that capture information relating to student health and well-being, including student counseling records, educational brochures, and workshop materials.

Retention: Keep student file for ten years from the date the student is no longer registered at the university, then destroy. Students who return to the university within ten years will have their file reactivated.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

^Back to Learning & Teaching menu

Organization-sustaining

BRAND & MARKETING | Organization sustaining 

Records relating to the advertising for the university. Includes advertisements, displays at tradeshows, television commercials, and records relating to promotional trips.

Retention: Keep ads and the associated artwork for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For strategy relating to marketing, including trademarks, see Marketing Management. For travel expenses, see Procurements & Purchasing.

Records relating to the activity of marketing RRU, including research, strategy and trademarks.

Retention: Keep trademark records for seven years from the date of the trademark is no longer in use, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

^Back to Organization sustaining menu


FACILITIES & PROPERTY | Organization sustaining 

Records relating to the management of facilities, buildings, and properties. Includes maintenance, the purchase of equipment and consumables, waste removal services, janitorial services, snow removal services, as well as files relating to construction and renovations.

Retention: Keep records relating to construction and refits for seven years from the date the record is no longer used, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the management of parking and parking issues on campus. Includes impounds, tickets, parking passes, fines and traffic control.

Retention: Keep records relating to parking issues, such as tickets, contested tickets and impoundments, for seven years from the date the issue is resolved, then destroy. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the provision of security services to campus. Includes patrol reporting records, incident reports, key issuance, photo identification cards, and closed circuit television recordings.

Retention: Keep video recordings from CCTV cameras for 30 days, then destroy. Keep photo identification cards seven years from the date the individual has left the organization, then destroy. Keep all other records for seven years, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For records relating to financial transactions, see the relevant subcategory in Finance.

Records pertaining to the tenants of RRU. Includes leases and inspections.

Retention: Keep leases and other documentation of a tenancy for seven years after the end-date of the tenancy, then destroy. Keep all other documents for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For records relating to the maintenance of buildings inhabited by tenants, see Buildings & Facilities Management. For records relating to financial transactions, see the relevant subcategory under Financial. For accommodations for students, staff and faculty, see Accommodations Management.

Records relating to the management of RRU's environmental programs, including programs relating to energy reduction, waste reduction, and recycling.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For records relating to the management of the natural spaces surrounding RRU, see Grounds Maintenance. For audits of waste or emissions, see Audits.

Records relating to the management of vehicles. Includes maintenance records, copies of driver's licenses, and sign-out sheets.

Retention: Keep records relating to the maintenance and performance of the vehicle for seven years from the date the vehicle is no longer in use, then destroy. Keep driver's license records for two years from the date of the driver is no longer employed at the university, then destroy. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the process of maintaining the gardens and the natural space of RRU. Includes researching documents, inventories, maps, and acquisition lists.

Retention: Keep plant inventories, maps, garden design plans, collection management plans, acquisition lists and accession files for seven years, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years, then destroy.

 

Redirects

^Back to Organization sustaining menu


FINANCE | Organization sustaining  

Records relating to an accounting entry that represents an unpaid bill or expense that RRU owes to creditors or suppliers. Includes signing authorities, cost centres, status reports, stipends, and transaction files.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records relating to an account entry that represents a credit that RRU has extended to others.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For records relating to tuition and tuition waivers, see General Ledger.

Records relating to the financial management of moveable property owned by the university. Includes furniture, fixtures, boilers, chillers, and vehicles.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date the asset has been relinquished, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the establishment, maintenance, and termination of University bank accounts. Includes deposits, bank reconciliations, and account statements.

Retention: Keep bank account documentation for seven years from the date of bank account closure. Keep all other bank information for seven years from the date of creation.

 

Redirects

  • For records relating to charge cards and the exchange of money within RRU, see Procurements & Purchasing. For records relating to nonsufficient funds, see Accounts Receivable.

Records that represent budgets (university and departmental), internal transfers, and budget letters from the government.

Retention: Keep the university budgets and budget letters for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the management of cash. Includes cash receipts, cash reports, petty cash, and cash management.

Retention: Keep records for seven years after the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the management of debt. Includes debt incurred by RRU, and debt owing to RRU through tuition and library fines.

Retention: Keep records for seven years after the date the debt has been settled, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records that represent the analysis behind financial statements.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records that cover financial statements, especially those produced as a result of an audit.

Retention: Keep financial statements seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For records relating to planning, development and tracking of budgets, see Budgeting & Costing.

Records relating to the general ledger, which records each financial transaction that takes place in relation to the university. Records include sub-ledgers, chart of accounts, tuitions, tuition waivers, residence fees, transactions with vendors, income, distribution reports, and trial balances.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records relating to investments. Includes correspondence, details on the investment's progress, and records that document proof that the investment has been acquired.

Retention: Keep proof that an investment has been acquired seven years from the date of divestment, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For records relating to the process of administering pensions to employees, see Pension Management.

Records relating to procurements and purchasing. Includes purchase orders, requisitions, quotes, price lists, charge cards, request for proposals and emergency purchases.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to generating donations for RRU. Includes endowments, correspondence with donors, donation forms, planned giving, and campaigns to raise funds for RRU.

Retention: Keep endowment records for seven years after the endowment ceases to provide income to RUU, then send to archives. Keep all other records for ten years after the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the management of taxes. Includes T4s, T2202s, tax remittances (PST and GST), charitable tax returns, and property taxes.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

^Back to Organization sustaining menu


GOVERNANCE, RISK & COMPLIANCE | Organization sustaining  

Records that represent audits conducted by both internal and external parties.

Retention: Keep external audits for seven years, then send to archives. Keep all other audit records for seven years, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to disaster recovery. Includes plans and initiatives to facilitate the survival of people on campus at the time of the disaster, as well as recovery plans to restart the operations of the university after the emergency takes place.

Retention: Keep plans for two years from the date the plan has been replaced by a newer version of itself, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records that represent minor complaints and compliments directed towards RRU.

Retention: Keep records for three years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For major complaints, defined as those that saw the intervention of the ombudsperson or a lawyer, see Dispute Resolution.

Records relating to insurance, including extended health insurance for students, auto insurance, and property insurance. Includes reports, processing of requests, and risk management assessments.

Retention: Keep claims for seven years from the date the claim is settled, then destroy. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to issues management, including briefing notes, position papers, policy development, and recommendations for decision.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

Records that represent the procedures, including correspondence and other records generated in policy administration.

Retention: Keep major procedures such as those signed off by a director or published on the university website, for seven years from the date the document is no longer in effect, then send to archives. Keep minor procedures, such as memory aids for an office, for seven years from the date the document is no longer in effect, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records that represent policies.

Retention: Keep policies for seven years from the date the document is no longer in effect, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the management of risk, including information security risks.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

^Back to Organization sustaining menu


 GOVERNMENT, PUBLIC & STAKEHOLDER RELATIONSHIPS | Organization sustaining 

Records relating to the building of relationships with groups outside of RRU, such as post-secondary institutions, community organizations, and Indigenous communities. Includes records relating to the awarding of an honorary degree award.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

Records relating to relationships with all levels of government.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the development of relationships with those who work in industry.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records that capture input from stakeholders within RRU, such as staff, faculty, students, alumni, volunteers and executives. For records relating to retreats, see Vision & Strategic Development

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to media. Includes newsletters, the RRU website, profiles of RRU representatives (including board of governors), social media messages and mainstream media broadcasts.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

  • For records relating to the promotion of RRU to potential students and donors, see Marketing Management.

^Back to Organization sustaining menu


HUMAN RESOURCES | Organization sustaining  

Records documenting employee enrolment in benefits programs.

Retention: Keep records for 7 years from the employee's last day of coverage, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records relating to the organization and administration of university elections.

Retention: Keep election ballots for four months from the date of the election, then destroy. Keep all other election records for seven years from the date of the election, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to staff engagement. Includes staff appreciation events and charitable campaigns where the recipient of the charity is external to Royal Roads.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records that represent a performance evaluation. Includes staff performance plans and evaluations, teaching and innovation awards, as well as records generated during a tenure review process.

Retention: Keep performance-related records seven years from the employee's last day of work, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records representing support and advice relating to human resources matters.

Retention: Keep records for five years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records that document employee leave (leave of absence, exchange, sick leave, long-term disability leave and parental leave), the management of an employee's long-term disability, and WorkSafeBC claims.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the employee's last day of work, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records relating to occupational health and safety.

Retention: Keep records that pertain to the safety of individual employees, including fit tests, training, and risk assessments of the worker's environment, for ten years from the employee's last day of work, then destroy. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the training and development of skills relevant to the workplace. Includes the instructor's copy of workshop material, PowerPoints, and certificates of completion. Includes training for information technology software.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to organizational design and change management. Includes planning documents for changes, copies of new legislation and regulations, job position descriptions, group reclassification appeals, salary surveys, and reviews of the overall salary structure.

Retention: Keep organizational charts, mission statements, and job position descriptions for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For appeals to review the salary of an individual, see Personnel Records Maintenance.

Records relating to an employee's pay, work schedule, and basic leave information.

Retention: Keep records for 7 years from the employee's last day of work, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the administration of pensions, including documentation that captures the first and last day of work for an employee, as well as any significant disruptions of service.

Retention: Keep employee pension records for one hundred years from the employee’s last day of work, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records that document major decisions relating to the employment of a RRU employee. Includes job applications, offers of employment, promotions, salary appeals, research misconduct, major health and safety incidents, and emergency contact information. Volunteers may also have a personnel file. Other categories in the human resources section may be organized as subfolders within a Personnel Record Maintenance folder. The retention of the subfolder category takes precedence.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the employee's last day of work, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the process of running a job competition, including the search for executive positions. Includes job offers, correspondence, interviewer notes, exams, and posting request forms.

Retention: Keep the records of successful applicants for seven years after they have left the organization, then destroy. Keep the records of unsuccessful applicants for two years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to labour groups. Includes group agreements, negotiations, and group grievances.

Retention: Keep the official copy of bargaining agreements for seven years from the date of the agreement is no longer in effect, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record is no longer needed, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the reporting of workforce statistics, including equity compliance reports.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

^Back to Organization sustaining menu


 INFORMATION & COMMUNICATIONS TECHNOLOGY | Organization sustaining 

Records relating to the planning of information technology projects. Includes research, standards, and plans.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the building, acquisition, and implementation of information technology projects and services.

Retention: Keep records for two years from the date the system or service has been decommissioned, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records that represent routine support and services offered in relation to information technology products. Includes service requests and the delivery of routine services.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the information security. Includes the monitoring, assessment, and evaluation of potential threats to information security.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

^Back to Organization sustaining menu


INFORMATION MANAGEMENT | Organization sustaining  

Records relating to the management of the archival collection. Includes archival material, displays, finding aids, research, policies, enquiries, environmental management, and projects.

Retention: Keep archival collections, along with the associated finding aids, accession registries, donor information, and preservation information in perpetuity. Keep all other records for seven years, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to copyright management. Includes clearances permitting RRU staff to use copyrighted material, and copyright permissions issued by RRU.

Retention: Keep copyright permissions that pertain to archival material for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of the clearance is no longer in effect, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For disputes relating to copyright, see Dispute Management. For trademarks representing RRU, see Marketing Management.

Records relating to the search and retrieval of records. Includes searches into both corporate and archival record collections. Covers freedom of information (FOI) requests, inquiries into the archival collection, requests from ICBC for auto information, and privacy requests. Includes requests and a copy of the returned records.

Retention: Keep requests which saw the intervention of the Office of the Privacy Commissioner or a judicial body for seven years from the date of the initial request, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records relating to the management of privacy. Includes projects, external review documentation, and records relating to privacy investigations.

Retention: Keep records relating to investigations of the privacy commissioner, and precedent-setting privacy matters, seven years from the date of the date of record creation, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to records management. Includes advice, projects, guides for managing records, retention systems and the documentation of destructions.

Retention: Keep the documentation of destructions for seven years from the date of destruction, then send to archives. Keep the system of records retention for seven years from the date of the system is no longer in use, then send to archives. Keep all other records for two years from the date the record is no longer in use, then destroy.

 

Redirects

^Back to Organization sustaining menu


 LEGAL SERVICES | Organization sustaining 

Records relating to contracts. Includes informal agreements, and signed contracts.

Retention: Keep contracts relating to the federal property lease for two years from the date the contract expires, then send to archives. Keep all other contracts for seven years from the date the contract is no longer in effect, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to dispute resolution. Covers disputes involving staff, students, faulty and executive. Includes workplace conflict, sexual harassment, legal investigations, human rights issues, equity issues, union grievances, and extended complaints involving third-parties.

Retention: Keep records relating to sexual misconduct or minors for twenty years after the date of record creation, then destroy, unless both parties agree in writing to send files to archives. Keep all other records for five years from the date that marks the beginning of the dispute, then destroy, unless both parties agree in writing to send files to archives.

 

Redirects

  • For records relating to misconduct in relation to a research project involving original data, see Researcher Misconduct. For records relating to misconduct in relation to student work, see Student Misconduct.

Records that represent directives, regulation, bills and legislation.

Retention: Keep records for five years after the directive has been replaced with a newer version of itself, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records representing advice from legal counsel, as well as records pertaining to legal cases involving RRU.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

^Back to Organization sustaining menu


LIBRARY ADMINISTRATION | Organization sustaining  

Records relating to the management of the library collection. Includes course reserves, interlibrary loans, vendors, donations, collections development, acquisitions, statistics, and check-out records.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

^Back to Organization sustaining menu


ORGANIZATION PERFORMANCE | Organization sustaining  

Records relating to long-term analysis data that describes the performance of university. May include long-term analysis of a financial nature.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

Records that represent the collection of data pertaining to the university. Includes data submitted to government on enrolment, demographics, programs, grades, degrees conferred and other statistics.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of the records are no longer needed to support projects, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Reports relating to the performance of RRU. Includes RRU's annual report for government, and departmental annual reports.

Retention: Keep annual reports for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

^Back to Organization sustaining menu


STRATEGY | Organization sustaining 

Records relating to strategic plans (representing multiple years) and operating plans (representing one year). Includes key performance indicators (KPI), and plans relating to a specific aspect of the university (campus, capital, education).

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the development of a vision for the university or a department. Includes meeting minutes, retreat planning, agendas, visioning exercises, and projects.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

  • For strategic plans, see Strategic & Operating Plans. For bios representing board of governor members, see Media Relations. For records relating to the committee on appeals, see Student Misconduct.

^Back to Organization sustaining menu


SUPPORTING SERVICES | Organization sustaining  

Records relating to accommodations management. Includes housing for faculty, students, and visitors. Records cover homestay lists, fees information, casual bookings, registries, check-ins, and evictions.

Retention: Keep records relating to tenancies for seven years from the date of the tenancy ends, then destroy. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the management of art and museum collections. Includes correspondence, research, and exhibit files.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

Records relating to events and venues. Includes cultural events, academic events, and dignitary visits. Records cover room request forms, fees information, and agendas.

Retention: Keep special events for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives. . Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy. Please note: staff member is asked to decide what counts as a special event.

 

Redirects

Records relating to mail management, including postal, courier, and freight systems. Covers schedules of intercampus mail delivery, issues relating to mail, delivery slips, and logs.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records relating to merchandise, such as food, textbooks, and other retail items. Records may include vending machine history files, menus, food purchase orders, and bookstore purchase orders.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to the organizing of sport and recreation services. Includes sign-up forms, registrations, equipment, and facilities bookings.

Retention: Keep records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

^Back to Organization sustaining menu


Research

PREPARE | Research

Records that are created by the Ethical Review Board in the process of reviewing research proposals.

Retention: Keep minutes of the Ethics Review Board meetings, including expressions of dissent, as well as decisions and reasons for decisions for seven years from the date of record creation, then send to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date the research project is ended, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Records relating to the application, processing and evaluation of research grants.

Retention: Keep records relating to Drug and Food Trials for twenty-five years from the date of the grant, then destroy. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of the initial application, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records relating to infrastructure that supports research. Includes records referencing equipment, datasets, and specialized computer systems. Records may document planning, implementation and maintenance activities.

Retention: Keep maintenance records for the duration of the life of the equipment, then destroy. Keep all other records for seven years, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records that stem from the process of training and developing researchers. The emphasis of the training is to produce good research, as opposed to producing academically strong students.

Retention: Keep the records for two years from the date of the training activity, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

^Back to Research menu


CONDUCT | Research

Records generated in the process of collaborating with other RRU departments, institutions and organizations on tasks relating to research. Includes participation in multi-institutional research entities, major civic engagement initiatives, and membership in research networks.

Retention: Keep the records for seven years from the date of creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

  • No Redirects

Administrative records generated during the processing of research applications. Includes theses and thesis advisory committees submissions.

Retention: Keep the records for two years from the date of initial application, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Records related to the application and establishment of research institutes affiliated with RRU, also known as research centres. Research centres typically bring together different academic areas on campus and promote partnerships with external organizations. Includes both rejected and accepted applications.

Retention: Keep the records for seven years from the date of creation, then send to archives.

 

Redirects

^Back to Research menu


IMPACT | Research

Records relating to the application of patents made on behalf of RRU staff, students, and faculty.

Retention: Patent applications should be kept for two years from the expiry of the patent, then sent to archives. Keep all other records for seven years from the date of record creation, then destroy.

 

Redirects

Unpublished original research, including successful and unsuccessful grant applications, theses, major projects, research papers, data, consent forms, conference posters, briefs, and articles.

Retention: Send theses completed by Royal Roads students to the Library. Keep records that fall under the Food and Drug Regulations for at least 25 years from the date the project has been completed, then destroy (unless there is reason to keep). Keep projects affiliated with faculty at least seven years from the date the project has been completed, then destroy (unless there is reason to keep). Keep records unaffiliated with faculty which do not involve Food and Drug trials for at least one year from the date the project has been completed, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For reports of misconduct, see Dispute Resolution

^Back to Research menu


IMPROVE | Research 

Records representing inquiries into allegations of misconduct in research committed by members of the university community. If the researcher has been found guilty of misconduct, transfer a summary of the information to either Personnel Record Maintenance, or Student Record Maintenance.

Retention: Keep the records for twenty-five years from the date of the start of the inquiry, then destroy.

 

Redirects

  • For misconduct cases that do not involve projects focusing on original data, see Student Misconduct.

^Back to Research menu