Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mendeley: Citing / Bibliographies

Practical instructions for installing and using Mendeley citation manager.

Cite while you write

You can insert citations from your Mendeley account directly into your paper as you write. When your paper is done, Mendeley can auto-generate a bibliography from all the citations you inserted using the Mendeley plug in.

To insert citations into your paper you must first have the the Microsoft Word plug-in installed. Make sure it is set to use the citation style you want to use.

When you are ready to insert a citation,click on 'Mendeley Cite' button under the 'Reference' menu in Word'.

You will be prompted to log into your Mendeley account.

On the right side of your Word document, you will then be presented with a search box to find your chosen citation within your Mendeley account. Type a keyword or two from the citation, such as the author's name or a word from the article title.

Check off the article title and click on 'Insert Citation' at the bottom of the screen.

If you would like to add a page number to your in-text citation, click on the author's name at this point. A text box will appear where you can type it in.

Your citation will be auto-inserted in the text.

Repeat this process throughout your paper for every citation you want to insert.

When you have finished your paper, and you want to generate the final reference list, place your cursor where you want to bibliography to appear. Click on 'More' in the upper right corner and then 'Insert Bibliography'.

The bibliography will be generated where you specified.

Trouble installing 'Mendeley Cite' plug-in?

If you received your copy of Office 365 through RRU and you are not able to install the 'Mendeley Cite' plug-in for Word, try this work around.

  • Use your RRU Microsoft account to install Office 365.
  • Use your personal Microsoft account (the one you set up when you bought your P.C.) to install the 'Mendeley Cite' plug in and to write your papers.

The following instructions are for users with PCs rather than Macs. If you are using a MA and are not able to adapt these instructions for your needs, please get in touch. We would be more than happy to work with you on this.

To switch between Microsoft accounts within Word, click on your name in the top right corner.  You will see what account you are currently using and you will have the opportunity to switch. If your personal Microsoft account is not listed, click  on 'Sign-in with a different account' and log in there.

 

You may need to 'Sign out' of your RRU account at this point, rather than switch. If you switch, your choice may not 'stick'; you may be looped back into your RRU account.

Download and install the ‘Mendley Cite’ plug in for Word. You can do this in one of two ways:

 

If the plug in does not install, if you get stuck on this page in Word:

install Mendeley cite within Word

 

Open the 'Insert' ribbon in Word and go to your add-ins.

Select 'Mendeley Cite' from the list.

If you do not see the option for 'Mendeley Cite' something went wrong with the download. First, check to make sure you are using your personal Microsoft account. (That RRU account can be clingy!). If you are using your personal account, work through the process again and reach out to the library if you keep having trouble.

Just the bibliography - no paper

To make a bibliography without writing a paper - for example if you wanted to create a list of citations as a handout - you could:

  • use the process outlined in the 'Cite while you write' box on this page, but select all of your citations at once
  • insert the parenthetical citations
  • generate the reference list
  • delete the cluster of in-text citations at the top of your document

Switch from APA 6th edition to 7th edition

To change the format of your Mendeley bibliographies from APA 6th edition to 7th (or back again):

Start in your Mendeley Cite plug in for Word.

If you are not happy with the current citation style click on the 'select another style' link at the bottom of the sidebar.