Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Critical Thinking Skills: Find Articles

Learn how to examine your sources and check for fake news or misleading facts.

Great article on implicit assumptions

Finding articles

Articles can be found in a variety of locations -- usually in databases available through the library website but sometimes also in print, on the open web or through publisher associations and organizations.

If you are trying to find articles on a particular topic, start with the Discovery search box on the library homepage. With the  Discovery  search tool, you are searching most of the Library's print and online collection. You can also   search databases specific to your topic. These subject specific databases are listed alphabetically under the Articles Database tab on the RRU Library's homepage.

If you are trying to find one specific article, try the library's Google Scholar search box instead. Using the library's Google search box allows you to simultaneously search both the RRU collection as well as the open web. Quick tip:  Enter the title of the specific article in double quotation marks and include the last name of an author for an efficient reliable search.

If you are unable to locate the full-text of the  article you seek, request a copy using the Document Delivery form, which is available here: http://library.royalroads.ca/doc-requests

 

Selected sources for finding articles in databases