Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Scholarly Journals:
American Review of Canadian Studies
Washington, D.C.: Association for Canadian Studies in the United States, Vol. 1 1972 - present. Four issues per year.
Vancouver: University of British Columbia, 1986- present. Four issues per year.
British Journal of Canadian Studies
Edinburgh: British Association for Canadian Studies, 1988-present. Full-text Sep 2003 (Vol. 16, no. 2) - present. Two issues per year.
Toronto: Maclean Hunter, 1986- . Full-text: Spring 1993 (Vol. 10, no. 1) - present. Four issues per year.
Canadian Ethnic Studies = Études Ethniques au Canada
Calgary: Research Centre for Canadian Ethnic Studies, University of Calgary, 1986-present. Full-text: 1993 (Vol. 25, no. 1) - present. Three issues per year.
The Canadian Geographer = Le Géographe Canadien
Wiley Online for the
Canadian Association of Geographers, 1950- .
Four issues per year.
Canadian Historical Review
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1986-present. Four issues per year.
Canadian Journal of Economics = Revue canadienne d’économique.
Wiley Online for the Canadian Economics Association, 1968-present. Four issues per year.
Canadian Journal of Political Science = Revue Canadienne de Science Politique
Toronto : Cambridge University Press for Canadian Political Science Association, 1986-present. Four issues per year.
Canadian Journal of Sociology = Cahiers Canadiens de Sociologie
Edmonton: Dept. of Sociology,
University of Alberta, 2008- . Full-text: Mar 2001 (Vol. 34, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year) Four issues per year.
Canadian Literature = Littérature Canadienne
Vancouver: University of British Columbia, 1986-present. Full-text: Autumn 2001 (no. 170/171) - present. Four issues per year.
Canadian Social Trends
Ottawa: Statistics Canada, Winter 1987 - Winter 2012(no. 94).
Canadian Theatre Review
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, Winter 1986(no. 49) - present. Four issues per year.
Canadian Woman Studies = Les cahiers de la Femme
Toronto: Centennial College; Inanna Publications,
Winter 1987 (Vol. 8, no. 4) - present. Co-published by: York University. Four issues per year.
Environments: a journal of interdisciplinary studies
Waterloo: Faculty of Environmental Studies,
University of Waterloo, 1987 (Vol. 19, no. 1) - 2012 (Vol. 38, no. 1) Three issues per year
Insights on Canadian Society
This occasional publication from Statistics Canada (75-006-X) provides information on various aspects of Canadian society, including labour, income, education, social, and demographic issues. Full- text: 2012-
International Journal of Canadian Studies = Revue Internationale d’études Canadiennes
Ottawa: International Council for Canadian Studies, Winter 1993 - present. Two issues per year.
Journal of American and Canadian Studies
Tokyo: Institute of American and Canadian Studies, Sophia University, Spring 1988 - present. Two issues per year.
Journal of Canadian Studies = Revue d’études Canadiennes
Peterborough, Ont.: Trent University, Full-text: March, 2001 to present (with a 6 Month delay). Three to four issues per year.
Labour = Le travail
St. John’s, Nfld.: Committee on Canadian Labour History, Full-text: Spring 1997 (no. 39) - present. Two issues per year.
Studies in Canadian Literature = Études en Littérature Canadienne
Fredericton, N.B.: Dept. of English, University of New Brunswick, Summer 1986 - present. Full-text: Autumn 2001 (no. 170/171) - present
Studies in Political Economy: A Socialist Review
Ottawa: Carleton University, Full-text: Volume 1, 1979 -present. Three issues per year. SPE is especially interested in work by, for and about Canadians, but it aims to be an international Political Economy journal.
This guide will provide you with tips for doing research on Canadian topics and recommended lists of resources. Click on the tabs at the top to learn how to find books, journal articles, videos, websites and more.
Note: the section on Primary Sources is of special interest when studying history.
Articles can be found in a variety of locations and formats -- in print, on the open Internet through publisher, association or organization websites, or in databases available from the library website.
For articles on the history of Canada, try the databases listed below. For academic articles, limit your searches to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles.
- Many historical newspapers are available freely on the Internet. Google "historic newspapers online" or a variation on that phrase, possibly including the name of the city or province in which the newspaper was published. RRU Library subscribes to 2 databases that contain articles from centuries past: JSTOR and Periodicals Archive Online.
- Google Books includes old magazines. Do an Advanced Search to limit the search to Magazines.
Use the Journals by Title search tab to find out if the Library subscribes to a particular journal.
Can't find the article you need? Request a copy through our Interlibrary Loan service: https://library.royalroads.ca/resources-mail.
Best sources for finding articles and studies on Canada
First Nations Periodicals Index
Indexes several journals and newspapers of mainly Canadian First Nations content. The First Nations Periodical Index is a joint project of the Saskatchewan Indian Federated College, Saskatoon Campus, the Saskatchewan Indian Cultural Centre and the Library Services for Saskatchewan Aboriginal Peoples committee. There is limited full-text access in this database.
Institute for Research on Public Policy
Founded in 1972, the Institute for Research on Public Policy is an independent, national, bilingual, nonprofit organization.
The IRPP seeks to improve public policy in Canada by generating research, providing insight and sparking debate on current and emerging policy issues facing Canadians and their governments
Selected Popular Journals:
Quebéc's leading news magazine in french. Library has Jan 1993 (Vol. 18, no. 1) - present online.
Informed and critical analysis of environmental issues facing Canada. Library has Sep/Oct 1986 (Vol. 13, no. 3) - present online.
Contains lively well-researched and illustrated articles on the history of Canada. Library has 02/01/1990 to present online.
Contains feature articles on business issues and major personalities. Library has 05/01/1990 to present online.
Weekly magazine contains news, feature articles, and columns on global and domestic issues in business, science, the environment, arts and
entertainment as well as books, sports, and people. Library has 01/07/1991 to present online.
Investigative political articles are mixed with columns, cultural analysis, fiction, and poetry to provide a critical view of Canadian society. Library has Jun/Jul 1986 (Vol. 20, no. 2) -Sep/Oct 2012 (Vol. 46, no. 2).
If you find an article using Google Scholar, but you are unable to access the full-text, use the Journals by Title tab on the Library homepage to see if we have the journal in one of our many article databases.