Skip to main content

Canadian Studies: Find Videos

Selected resources in the RRU library for the study of Canada

Canadian Studies Videos/DVD's in RRU Library

  •  Geologic journey  [videorecording] /  A Nature of Things special presentation; Canadian Broadcasting Corporation in association with Discovery Science; Altau/Tuttifrutti in association with Radio-Canada, the CBC, Discovery Science and the Office National du Film.  Toronto :  CBC Learning, c 2007.

Geologic Journey is a five-part documentary series which delves into the geological history that has shaped the Canadian landscape. The programmes looks at a wide range of scientific, amateur and narrative perspectives to document the land and how it was and continues to be shaped.  Includes interviews with with David Suzuki. Call Number:  QE185 .G465 2007         5 videodiscs

Provides a solid foundation of understanding for Canada's justice system.  Call Number: KF387.U53 2006

  • Canada [streaming video] : Diverse culture.  New York, N.Y. : Films Media Group, [2005], c2002.

 Famous for its natural beauty, Canada is under appreciated for its vibrant multiculturalism and racial diversity. This program journeys to Quebec and British Columbia to study social, economic, and cultural issues in those provinces. Conversations with local residents-including bilingual students in Montreal and three generations of Japanese fishermen in Vancouver-highlight the complexities and the rewards of the Canadian experience.

This program provides a fun and colourful look at the nuts-and-bolts of our governing bodies in Canada - namely the federal and provincial governments. Call Number: JL75 .U53 2005

  • Being caribou [videorecording] / National Film Board of Canada; directed and written by Leanne Allison & Diana Wilson; Tracey Friesen, producer.  [Montreal] :  National Film Board of Canada, c2004.

Environmentalist Leanne Allison and wildlife biologist Karsten Heuer follow a herd of 120,000 caribou on foot, across 1,500 kilometers of rugged Arctic tundra, from Canada's central Yukon to coastal Alaska (the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge) and back again. Call Number: QL737.U55.B34 2004

Canadian Films

Canadian Feature Film Database : from Library's and Archives Canada
   •compiles the principal credits of every Canadian feature film from 1913 to 2006
   •establishes a list of Canadian feature films from published information up to 2006
   •Currently over 4,300 films included

Search for videos & DVDs

RRU Library Discovery  Search  our  video and DVD collection. 

Criterion On-Demand provides  streaming access to thousands of feature films and documentaries that can be watched at home, shown in class, or shown at not-for-profit events on campus.

In order to play films, the user must have the Silverlight browser plug-in installed. This is a DRM system which is designed to prevent mis-use of the digital content. Silverlight is free and takes only a few minutes to download and install. Silverlight is compatible with a wide variety of operating systems and browsers including:

  • Internet Explorer 8+, Firefox 12+, Chrome 12+, Safari 4+, Windows 7+, Mac 10.5+

Not every browser and OS combination is compatible. Please see the System Requirements tab on http://www.microsoft.com/getsilverlight/Get-Started/Install/Default.aspx  for more details.

 CURIO database: Streaming access to educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Includes television and radio documentaries, news reports and archival material. Content is in English and French and covers a wide variety of disciplines including the Arts, Health and Science, Social Science, Education, History and Business. New content is added weekly.

National Film Board of Canada: View documentaries, animations, alternative dramas and interactive productions on the web, on your personalized home page, or on your iPhone.